Maryland CPA Requirements 2017 (Rules on Exam and Licensing)

Maryland CPA requirementsMaryland has a relatively strict rules in the accounting courses you need to take for the exam. It will be helpful if your school is teaching in accordance to the Board approved curriculum (see below).

Maryland CPA Requirements

1. Education Requirements to Sit for the Exam

  • Bachelor degree or above with accounting concentration or substantial equivalent.
  • 120 semester units from an accredited university or educational institution.
  • General 27 semester hours of accounting and a minimum of 21 hours in related subjects plus 3 hours of ethics.
  • Specific course requirement — there are two options known as Group I and Group II:

(a) Group I: Accounting and Ethics

  • one 3-semester credit hour of the following: auditing, cost accounting or managerial accounting, U.S. Federal Income Tax and ethics.
  • minimum of 9 hours in financial accounting.
  • minimum of 9 hours in elective accounting courses.
  • Please check here for the Board-approved curriculum.

(b) Group II: Business Related Education

  •  Courses in quantitative methods and computer information/systems may be used to fulfill the requirements for business related courses.
  • 21 undergraduate semester hours in 5 of the 9 subject areas:  statistics, economics, corporation or business finance, management, marketing, U.S. business law, business communication, quantitative methods, and computer science/information systems.
  • Please check here for the Board-approved curriculum.

2. Additional Maryland CPA Requirements to get the License

Education

  • Obtain 150 credit hour requirement.

Work Experience

  • 1 year of accounting experience (2,000 hours) verified and “endorsed” by a licensed CPA.
  • By “endorsement” my interpretation is that the CPA does not necessarily need to be your supervisor; but please check with state board for details.
  • The experience must be accumulated within 3 years of the license application.

Ethics Qualification

3. Maryland CPA Requirements on Residency & Age

  • US citizenship not required.
  • Maryland residency not required.
  • Minimum age: 18.

4. Fees

  • First-timers: $895 + application fee

5. Continuing Education

CPE is needed for license holders. Click here for Maryland CPA CPE requirements.

6. Other Useful Information

7. Contact

Maryland State Board of Public Accountancy
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308
Baltimore, MD 21202-3651

  • Email: cpa@dllr.state.md.us
  • Phone: (410) 230-6258
  • Fax: (410) 333-6314

What if these CPA Requirements don’t Work for Me?

You may want to check out these pages to learn about the educational and experience requirements, with my recommendation at the end of the posts:

If you have questions, feel free to drop a note in the comment section, or visit my Facebook page.

About the Author Stephanie Ng

I am the author of How to Pass The CPA Exam (published by Wiley) and the publisher of this and several accounting professional exam prep sites

follow me on:
  • MUHAMMAD says:

    Could you guide me what number to contact. I took CPA test back in 2004. I want to retake test next month. Who should i contact. Thanks

  • Mike says:

    Hi,
    I recently passed the CPA exam under maryland rules. I would like to work in CA, but if there are problems transfering scores I would then have to get a MD license and transfer it that way. I was wondering what does this mean?
    “The experience must be accumulated within 3 years of the license application.”

    Does this mean if you pass the cpa exam and don’t get experience w/i 3 years, I have to retake the exam???????

    Thanks

    • Stephanie Ng says:

      Hi Mike, if you are to stay in CA for long term, then it’s worth exploring the CA requirements. Anyway, for MD’s experience clause, you can find that out in the experience verification form. I guess it simply means that you can’t drag on the application process for 3 years. Note that it says “3 years of the licensing application” and not “3 years after passing the CPA exam”.

      But you can always call up the state board for clarification. Hope it helps! Stephanie

  • >