Vermont CPA Requirements for Exam and Licensing

Vermont CPA requirementsFor Vermont CPA requirements, the State Board will switch to 150 credit hour rule on July 1, 2014 to adopt interstate equivalency standards for CPAs.

After passing the CPA exam, you will need to accumulate 1 year of experience (instead of the previous 2 years) under the direct supervision of an active CPA licensee.

Vermont CPA Requirements

1. Education Requirements to Sit for the Exam

  • Bachelor degree or above.
  • 120 semester units from an accredited university or educational institution.
  • Course requirement: 30 semester units of accounting and business courses, including
    • 6 hours of non-elementary financial and/or managerial accounting;
    • 3 hours of auditing;
    • 3 hours of US income tax;
    • 3 hours of US business law.

Special note:

  • Must complete US taxation and business law to take the exam.
  • May sit 60 days prior to meeting educational requirements.

2. Additional Vermont CPA Requirements to get the License

Education

Before July 1, 2014:

  • 30 semester hours in accounting and business.

On and after July 1, 2014:

  • 150 credit hours
  • 42 semester hours in accounting and business.

Work Experience

Before July 1, 2014:

  • 2 years of public or non-public accounting experience, depending on the level of degree, with at least 500 hours in attest function, and within that, at least 200 hours in audit function.

On and after July 1, 2014:

  • 1 year of public or non-public accounting experience, depending on the level of degree, with at least 500 hours in attest function, and within that, at least 200 hours in audit function.

Application to all periods:

  • The experience has to be supervised and verified by a licensed CPA or equivalent (generally means CPA from Australia, or CA from Australia, Canada, Ireland, and Mexico. Please double check with VT State Board).
  • Experience must be attained 4 years prior to the exam to 4 years after the exam, i.e. 8 years in total.

Ethics Qualification

  • Taking of an ethics course equivalent to 8 hours of CPE. Candidates can simply choose to take the CPA ethics exam offered by AICPA.

3. Vermont CPA Requirements on Residency & Age

  • US citizenship not required
  • Vermont residency not required
  • Minimum age: none

4. Fees

  • First-timers: $723 (4 CPA exam fees) + $ 220 (initial application fee)
  • Retakers: exam fees + $65-110

5. Continuing Education

CPE is required for license holders. Please click here for Vermont CPA CPE requirements.

6. Other Useful Information

7. Contact

Vermont Board of Public Accountancy
Office of Professional Regulation
26 Terrace Street, Drawer 09
Montpelier, VT 05609-1106

  • Email: pskinner@sec.state.vt.us, cpaes-vt@nasba.org
  •  Phone: 802-828-2837
  • Fax: 802-828-2465

What if the VT CPA Requirements Don’t Work for Me?

Check out these pages to learn about the educational and experience requirements, with my recommendation at the end of the posts:

If you have questions, feel free to drop a note in the comment section, or visit my Facebook page.

About the Author Stephanie Ng

I am the author of How to Pass The CPA Exam (published by Wiley) and the publisher of this and several accounting professional exam prep sites

follow me on:
>