New Jersey CPA CPE Requirements and Courses

NJ CPA CPE requirements
To maintain an active CPA license in New Jersey, certified public accountants have to fulfill a CPE requirement on a triennial basis.

Here is a summary for your reference:

New Jersey CPA CPE Requirements

In New Jersey, CPAs need 120 hours of continuing education every 3 years. Furthermore, CPAs must report their credits every 3 years by December 31.

Specific Requirements

  • At least 60 hours of technical subjects, including 24 hours in accounting and auditing
  • At least 4 hours from a New Jersey law and ethics course
  • At least 20 hours must be accumulated each year
  • Maximum of 60 credits for being an instructor or speaker
  • Maximum of 60 credits for authoring published books or articles
  • Blended learning and individual study programs must be included in NASBA’s National Registry of CPE Sponsors

Further Information

You can also contact the New Jersey State Board of Accountancy for general licensing and CPE information:

  • Address: P.O. Box 45000, Newark, N.J. 07101
  • Email:
  • Phone: (973) 504-6380

Where Can I Take These Accounting CPE Courses?

I have an entire post dedicated to the best CPA CPE options. And in the post, you’ll find links to CPE discounts, too.

Photograph courtesy of Doug Kerr

About the Author Stephanie Ng

I am the author of How to Pass The CPA Exam (published by Wiley), and I also passed all 4 sections of the CPA Exam on my first try. Additionally, I have led webinars, such as for the Institute of Management Accountants, authored featured articles on websites like Going Concern and AccountingWeb, and I'm also the CFO for the charity New Sight. Finally, I have created other accounting certification websites to help mentor non-CPA candidates. I have already mentored thousands of CPA, CMA, CIA, EA, and CFA candidates, and I can help you too!

follow me on: