Maine CPA CPE Requirements and Courses

Maine CPA CPE requirementsTo maintain an active CPA license in Maine, certified public accountants have to fulfill a CPE requirement on a triennial basis.

Here is a summary for your reference:

Maine CPA CPE Requirements

In Maine, CPAs need 120 hours of continuing education by the time of license renewal which is done every 3 years.

Specific Requirements

  • At least 4 hours of ethics courses every 3 years
  • No more than 50% of CPE (or 20 hours per year) can be in “soft courses” in areas like economics, communication, business law, and computer applications
  • Self-study, teaching, and authoring publications can also contribute to the CPE requirement; contact the Maine state board of accountancy for additional information

Further Information

You can also contact the Maine Board of Accountancy for general licensing and CPE information:

  • Address: Office of Lic. & Reg., 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0035
  • Phone: (207) 624-8603

Where Can I Take These Accounting CPE Courses?

I have an entire post dedicated to the best CPA CPE options. And in the post, you’ll find links to CPE discounts, too.

Photograph courtesy of icemomo

About the Author Stephanie Ng

I am the author of How to Pass The CPA Exam (published by Wiley), and I also passed all 4 sections of the CPA Exam on my first try. Additionally, I have led webinars, such as for the Institute of Management Accountants, authored featured articles on websites like Going Concern and AccountingWeb, and I'm also the CFO for the charity New Sight. Finally, I have created other accounting certification websites to help mentor non-CPA candidates. I have already mentored thousands of CPA, CMA, CIA, EA, and CFA candidates, and I can help you too!

follow me on: